BROOKVILLE — Preparing for the start of a new school year, the Brookville Area School Board hired several new teachers last week. All fill vacancies made by resignations announced earlier this year.

Hired were:

Afton Hinsdale as a reading specialist at a starting salary of $46,935. She fills the vacancy created by the resignation of Julia Ferraro.

  • Lexie God was hired as an elementary special education teacher at a starting salary of $42,668. She fills the vacancy created by the resignation of Kris Johnson.
  • Stacy Lindemuth was hired as a secondary English teacher, at a starting salary of $42,668. She fills the vacancy created by the vacancy of Kim Hubler.

Superintendent Erich May announced during the meeting that five teachers have completed three years of teaching in the district and have earned professional status. Recognized were Olivia McGarvey, high school English; Heidi Afton, elementary learning support; Nathan Bonfardine, fourth grade; Gabe Bowley, elementary physical education; and Kyle Grabigel, high school band director.

Also hired was Christina Smith as the school psychologist, at a starting salary of $59,839. She fills the vacancy created by the resignation of Lauren Judge.

A long list of other personnel and policy matters was also approved by the board.


  • Julia Ferraro, Title I reading teacher at Pinecreek Elementary School, retired. She has been employed by the district for 18 years.
  • Keirstin Emery, child specific aide at Hickory Grove.
  • Kathy Wolfe, custodian, will retire in November. She has been an employee of the district for seven years.


  • Football — Scott Park, head varsity coach; Nick Nosker, first assistant coach; Andy Martino, Jim Rush, Gabe Bowley, Casey Belfiore and Dave Fitch, assistant coaches; Bob Fye, Jeff Park, Shaun Reynolds, Ryan Blochberger, Jonah Sampson, John MacBeth, Jamie Lindermuth, Tom Krug, Chad Hannah and Max Kutz, volunteers; Fred Park and Ed Richards, volunteer study table.
  • Boys golf — Ben Pete, head coach; Jack Matson, volunteer.
  • Girls golf — Alison Bernat, head coach.
  • Cross country — Doug Roseman, head coach; Dan R. Murdock, assistant coach.
  • Boys soccer — Dave Reitz, head coach; Corey Oakes, assistant coach; Shawn Castellan and Justin Miller, volunteers.
  • Girls soccer — Kaitlyn Hill, head coach; Jim Hill, assistant coach; Renee Peace, Madison Hill, Alyssa Heschke, Samantha
  • Seventh and eight-grade girls basketball — Mark Powell and Sam Whitling, assistant coaches; Kate Reinsel, volunteer.
  • Volleyball — Melinda Burton, head coach; Becca Dougherty, assistant coach; Tina Householder, Dan Olson, Elice Hamaker and Allen Morelock, volunteers.

Department chairmen

  • Brittany Ankeny, kindergarten; Jackie Carrier, first grade; Jen Palmer, second grade; Karen Shriver, third grade; Jennifer Reddinger, fourth grade; Jill McLaughlin, fifth grade; Amy Watson, sixth grade.
  • Amy Guth, Title.
  • Amanda Carrico and Marilyn Himes, math; Tim Pospisil, science; Donna Snyder and Jessi Smith, ELA; Angi Bowser, guidance; Leslie Taylor, related arts; Kyle Grabigel, music; Nancee Miles, social studies.

Recommended Video

Supplemental contracts

  • Assistant athletic director — Chris Hill.
  • High school club advisors — Archery Club, Eric Sweitzer; Art Club, Steve Jaworski; Bible Club, Conor Omecinski; Debate Club, Conor Omecinski; DECA, Melinda Burton; Drama Club, Andilynne Kalkbrenner; FBLA, Kelly Burford; German Club, Eric Sweitzer; History Club, Cody Wells; Math Club, Amanda Carrico; Med Club, Marie Fescemyer; National Junior Honor Society, Kristen Drake; Ornithological Society, Ben Pete; PULSE Club, Andrea Taylor; Rachel’s Challenge, Cheri Keys and Kristen Drake; Spanish Club, Erin McCronich; Technology/Engineering Club, Jake Lewis and Bryan Provance.
  • Class advisors — Class of 2021, Joyce Reitz and Andilynne Kalkbrenner; Class of 2022, Conor Omecinski; Class of 2023, Cody Wells; Class of 2024, Ben Pete; Class of 2025, Michelle Hopper; Class of 2026, Melinda Burton and Morgan Easterbrooke.
  • Elementary Student Council — Amy Watson.
  • High school Student Council — Cheri Keys.
  • Stage managers — Anna Osiol and Mat King.

Other hires

  • Heather Campbell was hired as a pool aide, at her current rate of pay.
  • Brandi Lundgren was hired as a child specific aide for the extended school year, effective July 21.
  • Kris Johnson was added to the list of substitute teachers.

Feeder programsRecognized as feeder programs for the district’s athletic programs during the 2020-2021 school year will be:

  • Football — Lumberjacks and JC flag league.
  • Cheer — Lumberjacks.
  • Soccer — SAY soccer.
  • Cross country — YMCA youth program.
  • Wrestling — Brookville elementary program.
  • Basketball — Brookville elementary program.
  • Swimming — YMCA swim program.
  • Baseball/softball — Brookville Area Little League.
  • Track — Brookville elementary program.


  • An agreement was signed with New Story for the special education of two students. The cost is $260 per day.
  • An agreement with Riverview Intermediate Unit 6 for the use of a classroom at Pinecreek Elementary School was approved.
  • A memorandum of understanding with Jefferson-Clarion Head Start was approved, to provide communication and cooperation with the school district in providing transition services to Head Start students and their families.
  • An agreement with Learn21 to provide a trial program through September for One2One manager software. At the end of the trial period the district can convert to an annual agreement at an approximate cost of $1,522 for the remainder of the school year.
  • A memorandum of understanding was signed with California University of Pennsylvania for preparation and support of new school leaders.

Gifts and donations

  • A donation of $2,379.07 was made by the Class of 2020 for the new football scoreboard.
  • A donation of $15 to the high school library was made by the reunion committee of the Class of 1974 in memory of Nancy Irvin Widdows.
  • A donation of $1,500 was made by the Alumni Group of 1983 to assist with the Class of 2020 graduation ceremony expenses.

Other action

  • May encouraged parents to keep checking the school’s webpage,, for information regarding the opening of school. At this time the first day of school is scheduled for Wednesday, August 26.
  • Board member Kerith Strano Taylor continued her request that additional lessons addressing racial inequities in our society be added to the curriculum. “I think it is a worthwhile conversation to have,” she said.

The next meeting of the Brookville Area School Board will be held at 7 p.m. Monday, August 17 in the gym at Hickory Grove Elementary School. The work session on August 10 has been cancelled.

Recommended for you