CLARION — The seeding meeting for the District 9 Class AA Wrestling Championships was held Sunday on the campus of Clarion University, and it should come as no surprise that the top three schools in the team tournament — Brookville, Brockway and Ridgway — combined for nine of the 14 top seeds.

Brookville, the five-time reigning D-9 team tourney champs, led the way with five top seeds in a tournament packed with experienced wrestlers — including 10 returning district champs.

When action gets underway Friday afternoon at Clearfield High School, Raiders Kai Sorbin (126), Caleb Hetrick (145), Xavier Molnar (195), Tyler Cook (220) and Colby Whitehill (285) will be headlining their respective weight classes.

There was no surprises in that list of top seeds, except for maybe the weight Hetrick is at. The defending champ at 152 pounds will compete at 145 in the postseason for the first time in his standout career. Hetrick made states as a freshman at 160 and won state medals the past two years at 152.

Molnar is the lone two-time district champ in this year’s tournament, with Cook also being a returning champion.

Brookville also has a pair of No. 2 seeds in Cayden Walter (106) and Braden MacBeth (170), while Cabe Park (120) and Dontae Constable (138) are third seeds.

Brockway, the D-9 team runner-up, garnered a pair of No. 1 seeds in Anthony Glasl (120) and Garrett McClintick (182). Glasl won a D-9 title last year, while McClintick was a runner-up.

The Rovers also have two No. 3 seeds in Dominic Inzana (113) and Eric Johnson (160) and two fourth seeds in Tino Inzana (138) and Andrew Hickman (152).

Ridgway two top seeds are returning champs Bryce Barclay (132) and Lukas McClain (138). Teammate Kyle Bush is the second seed at 120, while Logen McClain, a returning champ and state medalist, could only garner a third seed in a very deep 145-pound field.

The area’s only other top seed is Curwensville’s Blake Passarelli (113). The Golden Tide also have a second seed in heayweight Steve McClure.

Johnsonburg’s highest seed is Jake Zimmerman, who is No. 2 at 152, while Cole Norlin is third at 106. Rams Nolan Shaffer (120), Devon Norlin (132), Cole Casilio (145), Isaac Zimmerman (160) and Tyler Watts (170) are all four seeds.

Redbank Valley has one second seed in Hunter Martz (126), while Logan Minich (195) and Aiden Gardner (220) each earned third seeds. Clarion’s lone Top 4 seed is Tom Wurster, who is second at 220.

The other top seeds are Smethport’s Bryent Johnson (106), Kane’s Alec English (152), Port Allegany’s Jacob Kallenborn (160) and Coudersport’s Alex Wright. Kallenborn and Wright are both defending champs.

Full pairings for the tournament can be found on the Scoreboard on Page B3.

Wrestling action gets underway Friday at 4 p.m. at Clearfield.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.