20180219-ce-sp Woodrow

DuBois’ Dalton Woodrow, back, tries to take St. Marys’ Hayden Tettis back down to the mat during their 132-pound bout in the teams’ dual meet in early January. Woodrow is one of four Beavers to earn No. 1 seeds for Saturday’s District 4/9 Class AAA Championships. He is the top seed at 132, while Tettis is the third seed at the weight.

The seeds for the District 4/9 Class AAA Wrestling Championships were unveiled Sunday evening, and the event shapes up to be an exciting one for a multitude of reasons.

First and foremost is the fact that on the mat the 14 top seeds are evenly distributed between five schools. DuBois leads the way with four No. 1 seeds, while Clearfield and Shikellamy each have three. St. Marys and Selinsgrove each garnered two top seeds.

There also are six returning district champs in the tournament, while three more underclassmen winners from a year ago will not be in action for various reasons.

Throw in the underlying tension surrounding the now disputed District 4/9 Class AAA Team Tournament and whether Shikellamy used an ineligible wrestler to win that, and Saturday is poised to be a don’t miss day for fans.

Recent reports have indicated that Shikellamy now may be saying the wrestler in question wasn’t ineligible, even though the school self-reported the infraction after competing at states.

As for this weekend’s action on the mat, DuBois’ Chandler Ho (106), Ed Scott (126), Dalton Woodrow (132) and Kolby Ho (145) all enter districts as the No. 1 seed at their respective weights. All but Chandler Ho, a freshman, are returning D 4/9 champs.

DuBois has one No. 2 seed in Garrett Starr (138), while Lance Henninger (170), Eric Schneider (182) Alex O’Harrah (220) and Matt Starr (285) are all third seeds.

Clearfield’s trio of top seeds in led by three-time district champ Luke McGonigal, who is competing at 195 this year. He is joined as a No. 1 seed by teammates Matt Ryan (120) and Hunter Wright (160).

Bison Peyton Smay (113) and Caleb Freeland (152) garnered second seeds, while Jude Pallo is the third seed at 126.

St. Marys’ John Wittman (138) and Zac Becker both earned top seeds at their respective weights, while Dutchmen Tylor Herzing (120) and Alec Bittler (145) are No. 2 seeds. Hayden Tettis landed in the 132-pound bracket as the third seed.

Bittler is a defending champ but finds himself in a bracket with another champ in Kolby Ho at 145.

The other top seeds are Shikellamy’s Jared Zartman (113), Noah Supsic (152) and Josh Krieger (182) and Selinsgrove’s Nate Schon (220) and Adam Ritter (285).

Krieger is the lone non-area returning champ competing in the tournament.

Full pairings for the tournament can be found on the Scoreboard on Page B3.

Actions get underway in the one-day tourney Saturday at 9:30 a.m. at Clearfield High School.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.