Ian Callen KSAC MVP action file


Four area players earned postseason honors in this year’s Keystone Shortway Athletic Conference basketball awards.

Union senior Lucas Bowser was the lone boy to make the list while Union senior Frankee Remmick, and Redbank Valley senior Lexi Holt and sophomore Tara Hinderliter were honored on the girls’ side.

Bowser was a first-team pick after leading the Knights again in scoring at 18.5 points per game. He finished his career with 1,421 points and that ranks second on the team’s all-time scoring list. He trails only Scott Booth’s 1,673 points.

It’s Bowser’s third KSAC all-star honor and second first-team nod. He was a second-teamer as a sophomore.

First-time all-star Remmick was a second-team pick on the girls’ side after leading the Damsels in scoring at 15.8 points per game.

Both Lady Bulldogs landed on the third team. Holt earned her second third-team nod after leading the team in scoring at 19.5 points per game in a season limited to 12 games because of an injury at the start of the year.

Hinderliter had a nice breakout season, scoring 15.8 points per game.

On the boys’ side, league champion Clarion-Limestone put three players on the KSAC All-Star team, headed by junior Ian Callen who was named the MVP.

Also named to the KSAC All-Star team for the Lions were senior Christian Smith and sophomore. Smith was a second-team selection while Deas earned a third-team nod.

Along with Callen and Bowser on the first team were Clarion’s Cameron Craig, Forest Area’s Seth Berlin, North Clarion’s Nathan Banner and Karns City’s Chase Beighley.

The Lions’ Smith was on the second team with Keystone’s Dalton Jones and Corey Rapp, Clarion’s Austin Hummell and Venango Catholic’s Josh Puleo.

Deas was part of the third team with Keystone’s Nate Wingard, Cranberry’s Dan McQuaide, Karns City’s Austin Fahlor and A-C Valley’s Eddie Sevanus.

Tori Obenrader, the top player on league champion North Clarion, was the girls’ MVP. Joining her on the first team was Karns City’s Emily Hegedus, A-C Valley’s Ellie Thompson, Moniteau’s Emma Bair, Cranberry’s Malliah Schreck and Keystone’s Taylor Geer.

On the second team with Remmick were Clarion’s Wendy Beveridge and Kait Constantino, North Clarion’s Abby Gatesman and A-C Valley’s Kylee Eaton.

Along with the Lady Bulldogs’ Holt and Hinderliter on the third team were A-C Valley’s Cami McNany and Olivia Boocks, and Karns City’s Livia Andreassi.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.